National Student Wellbeing Program (NSWP) formerly National School Chaplaincy Program (NSCP)

On 16 June 2022, the Australian Government announced that they would expand the National School Chaplaincy Program (NSCP) program to allow schools to choose either a professionally qualified student wellbeing officer or a chaplain. The NSCP is now known as the National Student Wellbeing Program (NSWP).



Participation by schools and students is voluntary. NSWP student wellbeing officers and chaplains work in collaboration with school communities to support the wellbeing of school students through:

  • providing pastoral care
  • organising volunteer activities within the school community
  • running programs such as breakfast clubs and lunchtime activities
  • coordinating excursions, school incursions and parent/carer workshops.

A chaplain is an individual who:

  • is recognised by the school community and the appropriate governing authority for the school as having the skills and experience to deliver school chaplaincy services to the school community; and
  • is recognised through endorsement by a recognised or accepted religious institution (as determined by the States); and
  • meets the NSWP's minimum qualification requirements.

A student wellbeing officer is an individual who:

  • is recognised by the school community and the appropriate governing authority for the school as having the skills and experience to deliver student wellbeing services to the school community; and
  • meets the NSWP's minimum qualification requirements.

Chaplains and student wellbeing officers are required to hold a minimum qualification or qualifications equivalent to or higher than a Certificate IV in Youth Work, Pastoral Care or Chaplaincy & Pastoral Care. This qualification or qualifications must include competencies in mental health and making appropriate referrals, and providing pastoral care, and/or working with youth.

In their role working with school communities, NSWP student wellbeing officers and chaplains:

  • do not provide religious instruction or religious counselling
  • may be of any faith, or of no faith
  • must not proselytise
  • must respect, accept and be sensitive to other views, values and beliefs
  • must promote a safe and inclusive school community, where all people are respected
  • must comply with state and territory laws and policies in relation to child protection and child safety matters, including mandatory reporting of suspected child abuse or neglect; and the National Principles for Child Safe Organisations
  • must have relevant and valid state working with children checks
  • meet the qualification requirements of the NSWP
  • must undertake the cyberbullying Professional Learning Package delivered by the eSafety Commission within 3 months of commencing and refresh this professional learning at least once every two and a half years.

The NSWP is a complementary service to those provided by qualified specialists. The NSWP is not designed nor intended to provide specialist services to school students, such as professional counselling, professional mental health and psychological services and other allied health services.

If you have any queries regarding the NSWP, please contact Nicole Brown, Wellbeing Consultant or Sue Mulholland Administrative Support Officer 

2022 - 2023 NSWP (NSCP) - Participating Schools

Al-Ameen College
Alkimos Baptist College
ALTA-1 College
Atlantis Beach Baptist College
Austin Cove Baptist College
Australian Christian College - Darling Downs
Australian Christian College - Southlands
Australian Islamic College (Dianella)
Australian Islamic College (Kewdale)
Australian Islamic College (Thornlie)
Beechboro Christian School
Bethel Christian School
Bunbury Baptist College
CAPS Coolgardie
Carey Baptist College, Forrestdale Campus
Carey Baptist College, Harrisdale Campus
Carmel Adventist College
Carmel Adventist College Primary
Cornerstone Christian College
Dale Christian School
Ellenbrook Christian College
Emmanuel Christian Community School
Esperance Christian School
Fairbridge Western Australia Inc
Foundation Christian College
Fountain College
Fremantle Christian College
Georgiana Molloy Anglican School
Goldfields Baptist College
Grace Christian School
Great Southern Grammar
HillSide Christian College
John Calvin School Albany
Kalamunda Christian School
Kerry Street Community School
Kulkarriya Community School
Landsdale Christian School
Mandurah Baptist College
Margaret River Independent School
Mundaring Christian College
Northshore Christian Grammar School
Parnngurr Community School
Perth Waldorf School
Port School
Rehoboth Christian College
Southern Hills Christian College
Sowilo Community High School
Geraldton Christian College 
Swan Christian College
Swan Valley Anglican Community School
The King's College
Tranby College
Victoria Park Christian School
West Coast Steiner School
Wongutha CAPS
Wulungarra Community School
Yakanarra Community School
Yiramalay/Wesley Studio School